FAQ

Hi,

Although I may not be looking for a job at the moment, this section should answer a lot of questions you might have (if you’re recruiting).

I sorted them putting the most popular ones at the top.

1. ARE YOU INTERESTED IN RELOCATION?

No, I can work remotely only.

2. WHAT KIND OF ROLES ARE YOU INTERESTED IN?

  • Elixir / GO developer
  • A role with a chance to upskill in a range of other languages I like (Rust, Kotlin [incl. Android SDK], Swift)
  • A role with a mix of development and SecOps / linux admin

3. HOW OFTEN WOULD YOU BE ABLE TO VISIT THE OFFICE?

Depends on the distance and shall be agreed individually.

For instance (direct flights) to: Dublin in 2h 30m, Munich 1h 10m, London 2h, Rome 2h 5m.
I can spend the initial time (max. 1 week) in the office.

4. WHAT IS YOUR DAILY RATE?

Depends on the role & contract length but …I hope you’re not going to say ‘considering you’re based in Poland…’ (sad to admit that but I’ve heard that a few times). Please rate my skills, not my location (or I will move to Switzerland for the time being :) ).

  • Accepted currencies: PLN, USD, GBP, EUR

5. WHAT ARE YOUR CORE HOURS?

09.00 to 17.00 GMT+1 (UTC+1 [winter], UTC+2 [summer]) but I’m flexible.

For instance 9.00 am of my time (Poland) is:

  • 00:00 in San Francisco
  • 03:00 am in Toronto, Rio de Janeiro
  • 8.00 am in London, Dublin, Lisbon
  • 9.00 am in Berlin, Paris, Stockholm
  • 10.00 am in Helsinki
  • 3.00 pm in Hong Kong
  • 5.00 pm in Tokyo
  • 7.00 pm in Sydney

6. WHAT FORM OF EMPLOYMENT DO YOU PREFER?

B2B but I’m flexible. B2B works for any international contract here.

btw I’m reading a contract carefully and I’m not signing anything if I’ve doubts about a single word :P

7. ARE YOU OPEN TO LEARN NEW LANGUAGES/FRAMEWORKS?

Of course.
Always learning new stuff. I like to know how things can be done in different ways.

8. MOST IMPRESSIVE ACCOMPLISHMENT?

That’s a popular question, so I decided to put it up here:

Updated March 2019:

I’m building the world’s first digital legal tender currency.


Previous achievement:

I refactored a platform for launching games in 2 weeks and tested that against real live integrations with the biggest egaming brands (IGT, Playtech, Cayetano, Openbet) within the very first 5 days of the release. That started to make millions for Paddy Power since its release, never stopped and proved to scaled up. I reduced the time of the technical aspects of games integrations from months to days (even hours in some cases).

Based on that achievement I built up a team of 6 people that contributed to make the games channel the most proficient (in terms of revenue) of all Paddy Power channels. After we (me and my family) decided to come back to Poland, the company changed its policy to hire me remotely and I was the very first and the only one allowed to work fully remotely for Paddy Power.

9. WHAT SHOULD YOUR DREAM JOB LOOK LIKE?

Working with open-minded people, people who listen to each other and respect other’s opinion. Ideally an opportunity to create something original, learn something new, in the technology stack I’m interested in. I prefer start-ups over big corporations. The less bureaucracy the better :)

10. WHAT IS NOT INTERESTING TO YOU?

Please do NOT offer me any java, php or frontend roles…


11. DO YOU HAVE ANY EXPERIENCE IN REMOTE WORK?

Yes, I've been working remotely since April 2014 and I believe I proved it works perfectly for both sides (check out my recommendations). Here's my set up that allows me to cooperate and communicate efficiently:


Security

I care about the data you share with me (full disk encryption, multiple booting passwords, emails and voice encryptions).

Reliable connection

Two independent internet connections

Backups

Monthly backups on two independent encrypted hard drives

Power supply

A professional UPS for emergency power supply

Multiple OS

Three operating systems (Linux Mint (primary), OSX, Windows (as a VM :))

Communication

It's very important and I learnt how to keep it super efficient

Good coffee

I've my own real coffee machine, so batteries are always full :)

Accessibility

20 min of driving to the international airport with direct flights to the vast majority of world capitals

testing devices

Multiple mobile devices to test my mobile apps

I've worked with people from different countries, time zones and representing different cultures/values - I respect different approaches to communication and solving problems.


If you have no experience with developers working remotely I'm happy to help you in setting up a proper environment for such roles.


I work with the best

Interested in getting my CV?

The PDF version of my CV is available upon request.

Request the CV